Current service information:
Services are running on time today. Our team will be here to help with any enquiries from 7am (Mon-Fri) and 8am (Sat-Sun) #hexupdates

Men's England Rugby

The Squad and Tournaments

The England Sevens squad is made up of 20 players, who are centrally contracted to England Rugby, meaning that they dedicate 100% of their time to ensuring that they are in the best position to succeed. The squad tour the world on the annual HSBC Sevens World Series, compete in the summer FIRA AER European GP Sevens tournaments and are looking ahead to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

The squad compete at all nine of the HSBC Sevens World Series, travelling to Australia’s Gold Coast, Dubai, South Africa, New Zealand, USA, Hong Kong, Tokyo and Scotland, concluding the Series at their home tournament in England’s capital, London.

The FIRA-AER European Grand Prix Series has twelve European Rugby Sevens teams competing over four legs of a tournament to win the title of Series Champion. With World Series teams - including England, Scotland, Wales, France and Portugal - competing, the quality of rugby is of the highest standard.

The Series sees teams being split across the Cup, Plate and Bowl competitions and much like the HSBC World Series, the teams are ranked throughout by points gained after each round.

The Road to Rio 2016

Simon Amor’s England Squad has been nominated as lead nation to qualify on behalf of Team GB for the debut of rugby sevens in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. 

The International Olympic Committee and the International Rugby Board have stated that for the Rio Games only one team from England, Scotland and Wales may be designated as lead squad to obtain qualification for Great Britain. England must finish in the top four of this season’s HSBC Sevens World Series to guarantee Team GB a place in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Simon Amor, England 7s Head Coach knows what an effect inclusion in the Olympics is having on the sport:  “In terms of the global growth of the game, being part of the Olympics is very important and it is already having an effect in terms of playing numbers and my job is to make England Sevens players better.”

The HSBC Sevens World Series

Previously known as the IRB Sevens World Series, the HSBC Sevens World Series is made up of nine tournaments held across the world, between the months of October and May. The locations include Australia’s Gold Coast, Dubai, South Africa, New Zealand, USA, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Scotland and England’s capital, London.

Round Location Date

Round 1

Australia (Gold Coast)

11-12 Oct 2014

Round 2


5-6Dec 2014

Round 3

South Africa (Port Elizabeth)

13-14Dec 2014

Round 4

New Zealand (Wellington)

6-7 Feb2015

Round 5

USA (Las Vegas)

13-15Feb 2015

Round 6

Hong Kong

27-29Mar 2015

Round 7

Japan (Tokyo)

4-5 Apr 2015

Round 8

Scotland (Glasgow)

9-10May 2015

Round 9

England (London)

16-17May 2015

There are 15 teams who compete at each round of the Series to gain World Series points, which determine the teams ranking throughout the tournament. Each round crowns winners in the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield, with the squad with the most accumulated points winning the title of HSBC Sevens World Series Champions at the end of the seven month tournament.

Since the 2012/13 season, regulations mean that each team competing in a regional competition can directly qualify to compete in the HSBC Sevens World Series. In addition to this, the IRB has announced that the top four ranked nations from the 2014/15 season will automatically qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. 

Book your train tickets